Board Members

Elizabeth Moran – Chairman and President

Elizabeth, a life-long resident of the Town of North Hempstead, has lived here in Port Washington with her husband since 2001, and has raised her family here. A management consultant by profession, Elizabeth’s passion for the natural environment began during her early years, spending summers with her family in the mountains and on the lakes of upstate NY. In addition to her involvement with PWGreen, Elizabeth is on the board of the Port Washington Parks Conservancy and she has been an active participant in town projects including the Stannards Brook Park rehabilitation.

Susan Bagnini – Vice-President and Director

Susan has been a Port Washington resident since1972 and has lived in her present home with her husband, Carl and daughter, Jenna since 1976. She is a social worker and therapist in this community as is her husband. Port Washington has been a wonderful community which has changed significantly since she first arrived. Port was less developed and had more open spaces than it had fifty years ago. The water and surrounding woods were very special to her as a child. The need to preserve the last vestiges of open space is very important to her and her family and to the health of the environment.
Besides her professional work, much of her time has been spent in volunteer efforts in Port Washington. She was a long-standing member of the Board of the Port Washington Children’s Center as well as the Community Chest, both non-profit agencies in the community.

Patrick Kennelly – Treasurer and Director

Linn E. Johnson – Secretary and Director

Linn and his wife Ute have lived in the Port Washington since 1970, and he is retired after 35 years in Human Resources.

Linn’s love of the outdoors started as a child in rural New Jersey where his father owned and operated a plant nursery. He studied forestry in college and enjoys hiking and a variety of other outdoor activities. Linn is a trustee on the board of the Cow Neck Peninsula Historical Society and a past member of the Board of Trustees of the Science Museum of Long Island. There, he volunteered many hours helping to maintain the grounds and buildings there. He is also a member of the Explorers Club and has participated in two expeditions to Easter Island on archeological digs, to the Patagonia region of Argentina for science exploration, and to Wyoming and South Dakota’s Badlands for dinosaur fossil hunting. Linn views the preservation of Port Washington’s open space as necessary for the continued health of the peninsula.

Eleanor Rybecky – Director

Eleanor grew up in Port Washington and after college and marriage chose to remain here to raise her family. Three of her five sons have done the same. She has always been active in community affairs. A past president of the Terrace Association, she is currently secretary of the Friends of the PW Library and treasure of PWGreen. Now retired, she spent twenty years in the PW school system working with special education students.
A lifetime of summers spent in rural Vermont instilled her love of the natural environment. This, combined with her years in education, makes working with PWGreen to promote environmental education and the preservation of open space on the PW peninsula a natural match.

Peggy Maslow – Director

After retiring from 25 years of teaching she became involved in PWGreen and North Shore Audubon Society. She is an avid birder and recognizes the importance of protect open spaces for bird habitat. Peggy loves leading the fourth graders on the tours of the Guggenheim Preserve. She also worked three years as a writer for the Port Washington News.

Julie Meyer – Director

A resident of Port Washington since 1993, Julie enjoys the outdoors and being active in the community. She has a Bachelor of Science degree from Cedar Crest College in Allentown, PA. Julie served on the School Board as a trustee from 2000-2003. She is currently a real estate agent at Daniel Gale Sotheby’s International Realty, located in Port Washington.

Brian McCarty – Director

Mills – Director

Johnson – Director

Hollander – Director